Phishing Scams Start Appearing on Facebook

One of my readers just brought to my attention a new phishing scam taking place on Facebook. Apparently some users are posting wall posts that are definitely spammy. Here is one example post:

lol i cant believe these pics got posted….its going to be BADDDD when her boyfriend sees these-
http://www.facebook.com.profile.php.id.371233.cn

Firefox Forgery AleryIf you go to the link provided it displays a fake Facebook login screen that looks almost identical to the regular login page. Luckily I didn’t fall victim to this and received a comforting alert from Firefox that notified me that the page was web forgery (as picture to the left). If you received any message similar to this you should definitely report the activity to Facebook so that they can take the proper actions to prevent other users becoming a victim.

If you see a URL that attempts to duplicate Facebook you should realize that it doesn’t end with “facebook.com.” I’m sure there are already people that have fallen for the trick. Additionally, these scammers have made the login well. Once you enter an email and password it automatically redirects you to the Facebook page and will actually log you in if you enter a real email and password. Either way, don’t become a victim! You shouldn’t enter your email and password at any other URL other than facebook.com/login.php.

  Tags:



Comments (5 Responses)

Im gettin messages from random people… Appears to be spam..

Im gettin messages from random people… Appears to be spam..

Hey, does anything happen if i click on the site/?? like will my account start sending random messages on my friends wall with the phishing site’s name or sth?? I am really scared, I clicked on the forged site but I didn’t log in though, I got the same message from firefox, am I safe??

Hey, does anything happen if i click on the site/?? like will my account start sending random messages on my friends wall with the phishing site’s name or sth?? I am really scared, I clicked on the forged site but I didn’t log in though, I got the same message from firefox, am I safe??

My friend did this crap and now to keep getting stupid messages to trick me into getting on can you disable this

Leave a comment


 

Send us a Tip tips@allfacebook.com
Top developers Also View Top Applications
200,811,319
+ 1,184,786 (0.59%)
FarmVille
65,950,317 MAU
Café World
28,917,504 MAU
59,471,991
-95,156 (-0.16%)
Pet Society
21,770,968 MAU
Restaurant City
17,742,810 MAU
40,288,802
+ 245,761 (0.61%)
Facebook for iPhone
17,855,256 MAU
Static FBML
11,958,636 MAU
As of Nov 20 09 8:44PM