Valleywag Gets it Wrong
Posted by Nick O'Neill on October 2nd, 2007 5:04 PMValleywag has posted an article suggesting that the I Am Hungry application auction that I broke the news about a couple days ago, was a set up. I admit that the auction looks like there were significant jumps but when people post high bids, the auction can begin to look suspicious. I was able to get a hold of the buyer who informed me that they did indeed purchase the application.
A new company, AppStars, has been formed and they plan on launching a number of applications in the coming months. Apparently they already have an existing portfolio as well but I have no information regarding their other applications. The funny thing is that Doug Caverly of WebProNews decided to publish an article and stated that Dan Penguine penguine did not respond to a request for comment. As I’ve been told, that request never happened and all Doug is doing is furthering the rumor.
Let me say that I have spoken with both parties involved in this auction and everything has checked out. Dan also pointed out to me that the finalvalue of the application with a rebate ended up being $15,600 plus great payment terms. The bottom line is that this was a legitimate transaction. Honestly, Valleywag hasn’t always been a reliable source so I shouldn’t be surprised. I am on the other hand a little surprised that WebProNews would post an article based on something that was alluded to on Valleywag. Oh well!







(4.64 out of 5)
(4.16 out of 5)
Add New Comment
Viewing 8 Comments
Thanks. Your comment is awaiting approval by a moderator.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
The title of your post should have read, "ValleyWag, WebProNews, the faceosphere, AND Rev2 Have Got It Wrong"
http://www.rev2.org/2007/09/30/ebay-auction-for...
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
The only reason they are questioning it at Rev2 is because of a post that you made. Feel free to continue the conspiracy theory. I believe that you will soon see that this was a legitimate auction. Only time will tell.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Have you looked at faceosphere.com or http://MarkMayhew.com lately?! We're still friends, aren't we?!
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
The auction had a reserve so the bidding pattern is actually expected. I know you'll say it had a small reserve price but the fact is you have no first-hand knowledge -- I can't imagine Dan or anyone involved with the auction actually told you.
In short, your argument is 100% speculation. Did you even talk to Dan or AppStars directly?
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
But the joke is on them, they will forever be associated with the (worthless)"I am Hungry" app!
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
http://www.facebookwidgets.com/p/Valleywag-Gets...
Add New Comment
Trackbacks